2017-12-07 / Community

Laker High School inducts new NHS members

PIGEON - On Oct. 26, Laker High School conducted its annual induction ceremony for their local chapter of the National Honor Society. During this candlelit ceremony, 19 students were inducted as new members. Members were selected by the chapter’s Faculty Council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship, and character. Special music was presented by Halle Keim and Lance Gascho during the ceremony.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious organizations for high school students. There are chapters in more than 16,000 high schools, and since its inception in 1921, millions of students have been selected for membership.

Laker High School students inducted included: Sophomores - Aaron Baranski, Keegan Binder, Gage Brownell, Liberty Cloutier, Alyssa Goretski, Brianna Goretski, Isabella Hyzer, Emma Irion, Hunter Keim, Rylee Langley, Maci Main, Beau Martindale, Kaylee Maust, Haley McArdle, Christopher Noll, Jared Reiter, Bryce Sears, Joshua Swathwood, Jaelyn Talaski, Jessica Viers, and Joshua Wehner; Juniors - Ethan Eichler; and Senior - Corey Hatfield.

Courtesy photos Courtesy photos “We are very proud to recognize these outstanding members of our student body. National Honor Society members are chosen for and then expected to continue their exemplary contributions to the school and community,” said Jeff Etzel, Laker High School Chapter Advisor.

To maintain Laker High School NHS member status, students must maintain a grade point average of 3.50 or above, perform a minimum of 15 community service hours a year, and participate yearly in at least two school sponsored community service activities. Planned community service activities that the Laker NHS will participate this year include: Huron County Senior Ball; Huron Daily Tribune Mistletoe Market; Pigeon Chamber of Commerce Cookies with Santa Program; Pigeon Scheurer Hospital Healthercise Event; PTO Children’s Carnival; PTO Soup/ Sandwich Dinner; and the Huron County Special Olympics.

The 2017 - 2018 Laker National Honor Society has a total of 55 members. Officers for this year are: President Halle Keim and Vice-President Lance Gascho.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 Huron County View, All Rights Reserved

Click here for digital edition
2017-12-07 digital edition